[West Bengal Services (Death-Cum-Retirement Benefit) Rules, 1971]

Classification of pensions–Pensions are divided into the following four classes, namely :

  • Compensation Pension
  • Invalid Pension
  • Superannuation Pension
  • Retiring Pension

Compensation Pension

Option in case of abolition of permanent post. If an officer is selected for discharge owing to the abolition of permanent post, he shall, unless he is appointed to another post the conditions of which are deemed by the authority competent to discharge him to be at least equal to those of his own, have the option–

Of taking any compensation pension or gratuity to which he may be entitled for service he has rendered; or

Of acceptation another appointment of transfer to another establishment even on a lower pay, if offered, and continuing to count his previous service for pension.

Invalid Pension

Invalid pension when awarded.- An invalid pension is awarded, on his retirement from public service, to an officer who by bodily or mental infirmity is permanently incapacitated for public service, or for the particular branch of it to which he belongs.

Superannuation Pension

When superannuation pension is granted.–A superannuation pension is granted to an officer entitled or compelled under rules prescribed in chapter X of West Bengal Service Rules, Part-I, to retire at a particular age.

Retiring Pension

Retiring pension when granted.- A retiring pension is granted to an officer who is permitted to retire after completing qualifying service for 30 years or such less time as may for any special class of officers be prescribed.